CTO News

CTO Travel Media Awards Recognise Excellence in Canadian Travel Journalism

Toronto, ON (December 8, 2011) – Canada’s top travel journalists were honoured by the international agency responsible for the development of Caribbean tourism, the Caribbean Tourism Organization (CTO) at its fifth annual Caribbean Media Awards event on December 8th, as part of the week-long Caribbean Week in Toronto celebrations.

“The Caribbean continues to be a popular destination with Canadians, known for its friendly locals, sun-kissed beaches and endless activities,” said Sylma Brown Bramble, the CTO’s director of marketing for the Americas.  “The winners today were recognized for their contributions to Caribbean storytelling, as their articles evoked and brought to life highlights of the Caribbean to their readers.”

The full list of CTO’s 2011 Toronto Caribbean Media Awards winners:

* Best Feature Article in a Consumer Newspaper – Mark Stevens
“New England Architecture Meets Caribbean Color” in Toronto Star

* Best Feature Article in a Consumer Magazine – Kailash Maharaj
“Paradise Found” in City Style & Living

* Best Feature Article in a Trade Publication – Gregory B. Gallagher
“A Diver’s Dream” in Ensemble Vacations

* Best Photograph in Conjunction with a Feature Article – Theresa Storm
“Where Mother Nature still reigns supreme” in Calgary Herald

* Best Online Article – Diane Slawych
“Get Close to Nature in St. Kitts” in Canoe.ca

* Best International Feature (Print or Broadcast) – Mark Stevens
“On Antigua Everyone Comes to Party” in Washington Post

* Best of Show – Kailash Maharaj
“Paradise Found” in City Style & Living

The panel of judges of the 2011 Caribbean Media Awards included Dr. Rita Cox, a renowned storyteller and multi-cultural educator; Lillian Allen, writer and Juno award winner, who teaches creative writing; Dr. Camille Hernández-Ramdwar, a sociology professor at Ryerson University who specializes in Caribbean studies; and Johnson JohnRose, communications specialist for the CTO.

Posted in: 2011 News, Blog, Media Awards

Leave a Comment (0) ↓